Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Best Ever Collard Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Collard Greens

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2002

      Great flavor - loved it. I can't get Collard greens here so I used Chinese Cabbage - worked really well. I served it with Fried Okra & Jambalaya Thanks, great meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      Too salty. I'd recommend using the low sodium chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Even my Kids liked this. I substituted some cut up bacon for the Ham as that is what I had. It came out Great. My son even asked for it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I used this recipe to make collard greens for the first time (my first time using ham hocks as well!) and they came out just perfect. I didn't even need to add any salt and pepper for additional seasoning. I did find I needed just a bit more liquid to cover my greens so just supplemented the chicken stock with some water. After cook time, I shredded bits of meat off the ham hocks and then removed the remaining bone. This will be my go-to recipe for collards!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      This was a good recipe. I only gave it 4 stars because my only criticism is that the direction are a bit vague. This was my first time dealing with collards and felt that there could have been a little more instruction. For example: I had no idea if the ham hock was to be used only for flavor or if I was supposed to do more with it. Wasn't sure if I chop up the leaves a little or leave them whole etc. All in all it was very easy and very tasty. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Try this with smoked or fresh, turkey Legs or turkey tails if you can find them! This is a perfectly, easy and excellent, collard greens, recipe! This is definitely worth a try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      THE BEST! Just throw out any other method. Great for soooo many things..Collard soup, collard gumbo, Collard and sausagen or whatever stew.Not enough room here. You'll see. Thanks for sharing this WINNER !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      These were good, but kind of plain for us. I like them with a little more flavor. I found another recipe here that really packs some good taste without being hot, and I think I will stick with those. Thanks for sharing. Sheryl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      Wow! First time I cooked collards that they came out the way I wanted. I did these in the crockpot, using SueL's recipe as inspiration, with MG's ingredients. Just delicious, and I thank you for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      This great basic recipe allowed me to prepare a pot of greens for my daughter who was yearning for her grandmother's good, old-fashioned collards dish. This recipe turned out just like my mom's (and that's saying something)! I used 3 bags of pre-cut and cleaned fresh collards only because our grocer ran out of bunched collards. What a time saver that turned out to be! Also, my system can't always tolerate fresh cut onions. I successfully substituted dried chopped onion and onion powder to taste. Looking forward to trying this next time with smoked turkey tails/necks. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      I too was taught that collards needed sugar and a little vinegar. I've been cooking greens for almost 50 years and your recipe is proof that you CAN teach an old mutt new tricks!! I gave your recipe a go, and these are the best greens ever ( and I'm a greens eatin' fool). Thankyou. This will now be my greens recipe for the next 50 years :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      A little sugar should always be added to collards because they have somewhat of a bitter taste without it. Also a few drops of white vingar boost the flavor of collards up. If the liquid doesn't cover your collards don't worry because collards and most other greens cook down or wilt a whole lot when they cook. These are just some suggestions to help the novice cook. I have been cooking greens over 20 years and I know what works. I stumbled on this recipe while looking at something else and decided to respond.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! I forgot to use the bay leaf but I did add a small amount of crushed red pepper flakes for some heat. The "pot liqueur", as we call it in the south, is to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Mmmmmmmm.....good. I made this last night and we loved it. I cleaned the collards, stacked them up, rolled them up and chopped them in about 3/4 inch pieces. The broth is to die for, I was practically slurping it up....lol. I also chopped up the ham hocks about 30 minutes before they were done and added it back in. These have great flavor and we will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I'm originally from the South and this iis honestly one of the best recipes I have ever eaten for collard greens !! The only thing I added was some red pepper flakes as we like a bit of a "kick" in our greens. Thanks for posting this great recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      What kind of rating does collard greens receive when your husband says, "Babe, I could eat these every day and never get tired of them if you could them this way every time!" I just adore my husband and his happiness means the world to me. So guess what-this gets 10 stars!! We are originally from the country where collard greens and cornbread are our roots!! This recipe exceeds the bar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      These were really good! I boiled the greens first then saute'd the onion and garlic. Because I didn't have 3 hours I then added the greens to the saute added a can of chicken broth, bay leaves and S & P. Brought to a boil and cooked for another 30 minutes. YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This is an excellent starter greens recipe. For those that are having a problem with it being too salty. The recipe calls for broth not bullion there is a significant difference in the two products. If you are on a diet where you must watch your sodium. It's perfectly fine to cut the broth with half water. It won't hurt the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Delicious recipe! I used leftover ham rather than Hamhocks, which I have used in the past and add so much flavor:) Wonderful eating!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Good greens! We liked them, but thought they were a little salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Collard Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (542 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.6
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    18%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 792.7 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes