Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Collard Greens a la Carol Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Collard Greens a la Carol

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2001

      This recipe sounded like a great idea. I tried steaming the collard greens over the stovetop for nearly 2 hours and could not get them cooked enough to taste good. Maybe I did not do something right? I am sticking to boiling collard greens from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2001

      These turned out wonderfully. Simple, clean food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2001

      This was delicious! I ate 'em in two sittings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      I thought it was great. Simple to make and tasty. I added a little Tabasco to spice it up a little.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      WOW! These are great. I had to make a half recipe because I only had one bunch on hand, but I could probably easily have eaten a full one. Even with the onions slightly burned (took a bit longer than I expected to tear the collards) the great taste of this dish came through. Easy, quick, tasty... what more could I ask for? Oh yes, and I appreciate the quick lesson in tearing out the thick stem, I'm new to cooking fresh greens and I wasn't sure how to do it. And while I'm thinking of it... A quick heads up to those who are first trying this recipe: it is very hot when you take off the cover. Be careful. Judging by my sore finger, I just found that out the hard way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Delicious! I had been craving collards since someone made them at a cast party at my theater. I also sauteed the onions in some olive oil and added a few splashes of soy sauce and a few sprinkles of curry powder (I was suspect but that's what was in the excellent greens made for me at afformentioned party). Delicious! Couldn't taste the soy or curry but made it have a more robust flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Delicious -- really satisfying when we're craving greens!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Yummy! I used bacon pieces to fry the onion...which also made it easier to saute the greens. Very good dish. I love garlic, so that just made the dish even better, also added hot sauce at serving and made some good old cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      These were ok I did have to add olive oil to the pan before sauting the onions and garlic. I also added some hot pepper sauce, seasoned salt and added water to help stream the collards simmered them for 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      These came out very good. I added a little olive oil to cook the onions and a touch of water after adding the greens. Most recipes for collards require them to be cooked for a long, long time. These were ready in a short time, approximately 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2004

      Carol you never let me down! I was looking for a vegetarian greens recipe - notice I say greens because they were not Collard greens I used but Salad Turnip tops - your recipe was excellent and my friend enjoyed it very much as did I. I only let them steam for about 3 minutes but had the garlic and onions all browned, This will be great with beet tops too Again, Thanks Carol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Really on the fence with these...they seemed a little dry and only so-so, at best. Had this with the pumpkin soup and beans and rice, the other two recipes are better. Very light

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Collard Greens a la Carol

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.5
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    11%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 46.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites