Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Crock Pot Collard Greens and Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Collard Greens and Ham

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2011

      Love this recipe!!! I have done it with collards and with kale and both were great!! I use 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth, a little garlic powder, a diced potato and diced small onion and a diced ham steak~~~Up here (north), smoked ham hocks or smoked turkey are just about as expensive as steak!! It always comes out great, and I LOVE the convenience of being able to do it in the crockpot!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This was delicious. I added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes for an extra zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      We got our greens though our Bountiful Baskets co-op. Having never cooked collard greens before, I went straight to my comfort zone: my crock pot. We loved this recipe! The only thing I did different was add an extra ham hock. Easy to make and the flavor was wonderful. My wife loved the vinegar and I went for the Siracha. As noted in other comments, the meat from the hock didn't go far. I may add some diced ham in the future. Also, I ended up with a lot of extra broth. You better believe I ladled it out, froze it, and used it in a chili verde recipe soon after. I'm a broth enthusiast, so I loved re purposing the flavor of this dish (dubbed "green pork broth") for another use.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2014

      Very easy and tasty! I used Kale, but I'm sure you could use any greens or combination of greens you like. I added a little garlic powder, a large pinch of sugar and chopped onion. Served with cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2014

      This was amazing! I used to get collards when I lived down south, but haven't had decent ones up north in about 15 years. Served this with homemade pulled pork and corn bread. I can't wait to make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Absolutely excellent. Best greens I have ever had. And the Pot Liquour. We drank it out of a cup it was so good. Will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      very good and healthy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

    • on August 27, 2009

      This tasted great, BUT I had to cook it way longer than specified. Very well could've been my bad though. I used an entire bunch of collards (that may be more than 8 cups) and it took 6 hours to cook on high. I also found though that 4 cups of water seemed like too much. Am I supposed to drain the water once it's done cooking or not because there was probably 2 cups leftover?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      This is still a new thing for me to cook and we are really liking them. I had some ham hocks to use up and chose this recipe. DH couldn't get enough. I loved the chopped raw onion on them with the vinegar. DH and DD used all three "add on" ingredients. thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Simply fabulous! This cooked in my crock pot without any worry on my part and turned out great! The only change I made is I have started to substitute a smoked turkey leg for ham hocks in all recipes. I think it has more meat in the end, with the same great smokey flavor. I think I just about doubled the recipe for a party and it was all eaten! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I love this recipe because it is so easy. I made this for my Thanksgiving lunch at work and it was a hit. Thank you so much for this easy way to fix collard greens. This is the way I will fix my collard greens for now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! Crock pot is the ONLY way I will cook collards from now on. I highly encourage everyone to add a few extra strips of bacon and be sure to include the smoked ham hock. This is so good you feel like it was made at Paula Dean's restaurant! And it's very inexpenisve to make, which is perfect during the economic recession! I can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Very easy! I didn't have Ham but that was ok. My hubby is from Kansas City and has been dying for my mom to make greens for him. I decided I would make them instead and he LOVED them! This is one of those things that only his mom can cook and I conquered it! HA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

    • on September 11, 2007

      Wow! Great recipe! I skipped the meat because I didn't have any in the house, and skipped the onion for dietary reasons. I did add a little bit of hickory smoke powder for the bacon flavor. I sprinkled in a little olive oil right before cooking. I cooked on low for about 5 hours and on high for another hour. The texture was perfect... that melt in your mouth feeling. I added a little red wine vinegar and Tabasco upon serving. Hubby wasn't crazy about them (this was his first greens experience) but he ate them anyway. Will make again!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      This is my first crockpot recipe that finally came out good! I omitted the meat because i am a vegetarian and everything came out tasty. I just covered the bottom of my crock pot with olive oil, threw in some garlic and the onions and some seasonings i had on hand and PRESTO! CHANGE-O!!! It came out perfect! Thanks for the recipe. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      hey you can even use frozen greens, wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

    • on November 17, 2005

      My husband is a born and bread Georgia boy and was floored by this recipe! I've made it a few times already and have replaced the ham hock with a smoked turkey leg. Wonderful flavor and more meat to dish out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Collard Greens and Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 49.7
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    12%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 324.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked ham hock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites