Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Fresh Peach Cobbler, the Absolutely Best Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Peach Cobbler, the Absolutely Best Ever

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2003

      The crunchy glaze topping made this delicious peach cobbler unique. Since there were four of us, and I didn't want left overs, I cut the recipe in half, and that worked beautifully in a 8 X 8 square glass pan. Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Leta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      Leta, this cobbler may very well be the best I've ever eaten! Now, that's saying something because I was raised on cobbler and have been making it most of my life! I love it! This is such a simple recipe and produces excellent results. I have never used tapioca in cobbler before, but it was great! Just make sure you do not over fill your pan because the tapioca will expand and will cause a melted-down, burned on mess in the bottom of your oven ;) . Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, Leta!! I will keep this recipe handy and make every peach season!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      I made this last night. To die for...which I am eating it now after micro it for 20 seconds. Next time, which will be in a few minutes for a friend, I will only use 1 cup of sugar in the topping. I used (2) 29oz. cans sliced peaches,heavy syrup, drained. Baked in (2) 7 1/2 x 7 1/2 inch foil pans. I raised the edges on the pans incase it rose too high. It worked out great. My husband said this is the best recipe. Thank you Leta!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      I disliked most everything about this recipe; don't like cobbler, despise tapioca, not big on a lot of sugar but with a name like this and a 5-star review I just had to try it. It's really, really good. The best cobbler I've ever had and no sign of tapioca. Next time I'll cut way back on the sugar. Thanks, Leta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      We all agree that this is the best peach cobbler ever! I think I will use a lasagne pan next time, because I want to add more peaches. I used 8 peaches, but I didn't measure how many cups they came out to. Two more would be better. I think I will reduced the amount of tapioca to 3TB like other reviewers did. The filling baked over a little and made a mess, so a bigger pan will fix that. Thanks!


      Update: I made this again in a lasagne pan with 8 huge nectarines, and 3TB tapioca. Everything else stayed the same. It still slightly bubbled out of the pan in the oven, but nothing too bad. This time the fruit was saucy and the cobbler part was the right thickness. It was very well received. The extra sugar/cornstarch mixture really makes this cobbler unique. It is a ton of sugar in this cobbler, but the end result is worth it! No one said it was too sweet or a sugar overload either. The pan was emptied!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Excellent peach cobbler...my favorite flavor of cobbler. Will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      This cobbler was delicious and so simple to make! My husband and I both agree this recipe is a keeper! I would give it more stars if I could! I made a half recipe and did not have tapioca so I substituted with 3 T. flour. I also used less sugar with my fresh peaches because they were very sweet and juicy on their own. We had a nice amount of peachy syrup on the bottom of the pan. I had some buttermilk that I needed to use so subbed it for the milk. I added a little bit extra since it made the batter so thick. I'm not sure where other reviewers got that they were supposed to use 2 tsp or tbsp. of both cinnamon and nutmeg! The recipe indicates much less and also "to taste". And anyone also needs to consider that spices can be adjusted, added, or even completely removed or replaced, if you prefer something different! If something sounds like it would be too much, then add just a little, taste, and then add more if you think it needs it. I made the topping according to the half recipe and wondered if it would be too sweet. We served it with vanilla ice cream which probably helped to balance the sweetness. It was fabulous and I can't wait to try it with other fresh fruits! I used a 10"x10" pan, sprayed with Pam, and had no run over. Baked for 1 hour and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      I did not care for this recipe - too much bread - not juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      I just got do making this and I think I might get diabetes before I even eat it. I am following exact directions, although at altitude I had to adjust the sugar. More to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      This is the best thing I've ever made with peaches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      OK, but I did not add topping on top of the dough. That was another cup of sugar that's definitely not needed here. Also, it would've never fit the pan.....bubbled over as it was. I mixed in some fresh strawberries maserated in about 1/8 c. sugar with filling. While it's an OK dessert, it's not a cobbler at all. I did like the tapioca touch, not sure it added anything other than a thickener. The dough topping overwhelms any peachiness, I used 2 lrg cans, mostly drained, and topping was 2 to 1 on thickness. Might use the filling part again, but definitely not the top parts. Too much sugar, possible cleanup nightmare w/o a cookie sheet under it as it is the topping that expands, not the tapioca.
      -updated review after getting further into it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      This was SOOOO GOOD. Best Peach cobbler I have ever made and even my daughter that NEVER eats fruit of any kind--LOVED IT. It is soooo good. I had cut it in half and cooked it in the toaster oven =) YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Loved it!!!!! I grew up with bisquick cobbler so my criteria was pretty low and this will keep me away from the bisquick version forever. It is simply heaven esp when topped with some slowly melting ice cream. Since it isn't peach season, I used (3) 29oz. cans sliced peaches,heavy syrup, drained. That's probably more than the recipe cup-wise but I think if I hadn't I'd be wanting more fruit. I actually forgot the boiling water before baking and I didn't notice anything amiss in the results so it obviously didn't hurt anything. I also reduced the amount of sugar on the top and will probably reduce more next time as my crunchy topping was still plenty. Can't wait to make this with fresh peaches, I'll have to give it 6 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      The topping was FABULOUS! I cut it down by 1/3 and there was still a lot on top and it was delicious - like fluffy shortcake! I especially liked the crispy layer on top of that. What I didn't like was the tapioca balls. I thought I would be OK because I read the other reviews and reduced the amount to 3T. Unfortunately, this dessert was served when I was away from the table and I came back to hear people talking about 'bubble tea' and calling the dessert "Bubble Cobbler" (with love and good jest, of course, but still!) I was kind of embarrassed about it. I think I'll make it again and use the top part but find another recipe for the bottom. Either way, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      I tried this cobbler recipe a few weeks ago, I had a bunch of juicy fresh peaches. Very tasty. Loved the topping.
      Thankfully I read the reviews before I baked this. I agree that you need to cut the breading amount, unless you like doughy cobbler. I cut the amount roughly in half, I also used 3 Tbs of instant Tapioca instead of 6 Tbs that was recommended, it turned out fine.
      I used 7-8 cups of peaches. The next go round I am going to use more peaches and cut the breading to 1/3.
      This is my cobbler recipe from NOW on! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Halved the recipe in an 9x9 and baked for 1 hour (worked out perfectly). Used 2tbsp minute tapioca and there were no bits left after cooking, nor any juice left in the pan. I agree with the reviewer who said this was a little to "cake like" for cobbler, and would urge other cooks to go with the higher amount of fruit!. I did like the glaze on top, reminded me of those awesome hostess fried pies! However if you don't eat it right away the glaze kinda melds into the cake, so eat it up! (There's your excuse!). Very good recipe, just not what I had in mind for cobbler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I'm giving this 4-stars because I used canned peaches (2 29 oz cans). I would bet money it's a 5-star recipe with fresh! I will make this again when they're in season. My family thought it was delicious served with vanilla bean ice cream. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      I made this today for about 30 people. Comments were awsome. As a person addition I put in about a cup of fresh blueberries. Yummy. Janice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      We were given a bunch of gorgeous, juicy WA peaches and I decided to use some of them in this recipe. I halved the recipe and used an 11X7X2 pan hoping that might help with any possible running over that was mentioned, I also put a sheet of foil underneath, just in case. It turned out not to be needed - nothing ran over. I made the recipe "as is" except added a touch of almond extract to the peaches and only baked for 1 hours. Great recipe! My only tweek that I will do next time is to add a little less tapioca because my cobbler had absolutely NO juice and my peaches were extra juicy and I missed having at least a little in the dish. I used instant tapioca and it cooked up just fine and wasn't even noticeable in the finished product. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      My family and those at my church love this cobbler! I had some extra cinnamon and cut out the nutmeg...but that is personal taste. It is the best recipe and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Peach Cobbler, the Absolutely Best Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.3
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    18%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 18.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 253.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 48.6 g
    194%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites