10 Reviews

This recipe has been used in our family for many years. My problem now is that I have trouble finding green tomatoes! The recipe is very simple, but I salt and pepper the tomatoes a little and add a little white flour to the cornmeal. My mother would sprinkle a little sugar - white or brown - on the tomato after she turned them. When the sugar melts and is crusty the tomato is done.

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madpots March 12, 2001

This is exactly how I make them. I have taken to not using the bacon fat and using canola sometimes. My local vegetable market guy keeps green tomatoes most of the year so we can enjoy these just about anytime.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff March 25, 2003

This one is truly WOW and goes with all my Indian meals as a wonderful, quick and inexpensive side dish !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mini Ravindran March 23, 2003

being a southerner.. this dish is a staple at our dinner table. However.. I double batter my tomatoes by using a egg and milk wash. Dust the tomaotes in white cornmeal that has a wee bit of salt and pepper and sugar in it, then dip in the milk wash and redip in the cornmeal. Into the oil it goes.... They are amazing.. everywhere I have taken them.. people just rave about them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renee Brimer August 15, 2003

Delicious, there is nothing quite like it. Tis the season for these gems. I enjoy fried green tomatoes about twice a year. Thanks for sharing troyh

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker April 09, 2012

They weren't all that bad, but slightly bland. Something was missing, but I wasn't quite sure what. I seasoned each tomato with salt and pepper, also dipping them in milk, flour, and eggs, before coating them with cornmeal. I thought the bacon drippings would give the tomatoes some extra flavor, but they didn't seem to. Actually, the odd thing is that I refrigerated and re-heated some leftover tomatoes the next day, and they tasted better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nefftyda August 18, 2008

This was exactly what my Georgia raised mother made, I always add some lemon pepper seasoning while they are in the pan to take it up a notch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Davis June 27, 2008

Okay, I have always made them this way EXCEPT I never thought to use bacon grease before when frying. I have to admit that it takes this to the next level, hence the 5 stars. Can't think why I never thought of it but I'm sure glad that you did - thanks for a new twist on an old favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl August 04, 2004

great recipe for the green tomatoes left in the garden. i use oil instead of bacon drippings. a lovely, crunchy, crusty outside followed by a tart burst of garden-fresh flavor. yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luckycloud29 December 24, 2003
Fried Green Tomatoes II