Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Fried Green Tomatoes II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Green Tomatoes II

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2001

      This recipe has been used in our family for many years. My problem now is that I have trouble finding green tomatoes! The recipe is very simple, but I salt and pepper the tomatoes a little and add a little white flour to the cornmeal. My mother would sprinkle a little sugar - white or brown - on the tomato after she turned them. When the sugar melts and is crusty the tomato is done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      This is exactly how I make them. I have taken to not using the bacon fat and using canola sometimes. My local vegetable market guy keeps green tomatoes most of the year so we can enjoy these just about anytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      This one is truly WOW and goes with all my Indian meals as a wonderful, quick and inexpensive side dish !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2001

    • on August 15, 2003

      being a southerner.. this dish is a staple at our dinner table. However.. I double batter my tomatoes by using a egg and milk wash. Dust the tomaotes in white cornmeal that has a wee bit of salt and pepper and sugar in it, then dip in the milk wash and redip in the cornmeal. Into the oil it goes.... They are amazing.. everywhere I have taken them.. people just rave about them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Delicious, there is nothing quite like it. Tis the season for these gems. I enjoy fried green tomatoes about twice a year. Thanks for sharing troyh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      They weren't all that bad, but slightly bland. Something was missing, but I wasn't quite sure what. I seasoned each tomato with salt and pepper, also dipping them in milk, flour, and eggs, before coating them with cornmeal. I thought the bacon drippings would give the tomatoes some extra flavor, but they didn't seem to. Actually, the odd thing is that I refrigerated and re-heated some leftover tomatoes the next day, and they tasted better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      This was exactly what my Georgia raised mother made, I always add some lemon pepper seasoning while they are in the pan to take it up a notch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      Okay, I have always made them this way EXCEPT I never thought to use bacon grease before when frying. I have to admit that it takes this to the next level, hence the 5 stars. Can't think why I never thought of it but I'm sure glad that you did - thanks for a new twist on an old favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      great recipe for the green tomatoes left in the garden. i use oil instead of bacon drippings. a lovely, crunchy, crusty outside followed by a tart burst of garden-fresh flavor. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Green Tomatoes II

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 28.2
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    95%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes