Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Granny's Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Fried Green Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2003

      Terrific, great, fantastic!!!! I used a mixture butter and peanut oil, as needed, in the pan to fry the slices. The lemon pepper was wondeful with the green tomato, great combination. I also liked using the addition of flour with the cornmeal. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      I picked this recipe because it had all the ingredients I normally have on hand. No buttermilk. Simple and delicious. I have made it a couple of times already. Sorry the review was late. Will probably make it a couple of more times before the tomatoes are gone for the year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      It was my first time making f.g.t.'s and thought the recipe turned out great. I used my cast iron skillet which I thought contributed to the nice crispiness. I would use this recipe again but consider dipping the tomatoes in egg white first. I also used it to fry zucchini and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Good solid recipe with a nice taste! I'd like to play with the spices. Thanks for another great recipe MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      I have never made or tried fried green tomatoes, so it may not be the recipe, but my tastes. It just tasted like under ripe tomatoes with some grease on it.... =/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I like a batter made out of buttermilk better. What I didn't like about this recipe is that it didn't call for any eggs. I thought the batter was too grainy and thin. I wasn't impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Wow, now I know what all the fuss is about! Yummy. My only problem was that the cornmeal was too gritty. I'll have to look for something that's ground finer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      I never made fried green tomatoes before, so didn't really know what to expect. These were very nice and held up well in my DHs sandwhich, by saying that I mean these did not turn soggy, and the batter remained intact(I told him he HAD to report the 'tomato condition'). I made these for Redneck Club Sandwich Thank You MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Turned out great! I didn't have any lemon pepper seasoning, so I just marinated in lemon juice and black pepper for about 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      Yum! I regret using too much lemmon-pepper seasoning than probably what the recipe really called for. Next time, I'll ease up on the seasoning because a little goes a long way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      There are a lot of good recipes for fried green tomatoes, but this one has to rank way, way up there among the very best! I just sprinkled the lemon-pepper on lightly without measuring. It was probably a good bit more than called for, but it was just perfect for our tastes. The only other way I deviated from the recipe was to add some freshly-grated Parmesan to the cornmeal/flour coating, which we thought was a yummy addition. Huge hit with the entire family, MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      Yummy. fried green tomatoes, Love the addition of the lemon pepper adds such a good flavor to them. I used canola oil next time I will use some butter with the oil only to tase the difference, they were delicious the way your recipe stated. Thank you for posting a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      I've never had these, but was always curious. Found green tomatoes, tried this recipe and now know what everyone raves about! I'll be looking out for more green tomatoes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      Delicious! I also used butter and peanut oil to fry the slices. Flavor is wonderful with the addition of the lemon pepper. Great way to use green tomatoes from our garden. Thanks for a great recipe, MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Fried Green Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.2
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    69%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 605.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites