16 Reviews

Terrific, great, fantastic!!!! I used a mixture butter and peanut oil, as needed, in the pan to fry the slices. The lemon pepper was wondeful with the green tomato, great combination. I also liked using the addition of flour with the cornmeal. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy-Jude September 01, 2003

I picked this recipe because it had all the ingredients I normally have on hand. No buttermilk. Simple and delicious. I have made it a couple of times already. Sorry the review was late. Will probably make it a couple of more times before the tomatoes are gone for the year!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Booshman August 10, 2013

These were very good. I actually was out of lemon pepper, so I substituted Everyday Seasoning. I was struggling to have enough cornflour/flour coating stay on the tomatoes until I read the review stating to coat, then dip in egg, then coat again. Those turned out wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoVols September 15, 2014

Done and can you say CANDY?! I didn't have any Kentucky Kernel (still weeping) so I trusted what I read here. As usual, I didn't measure anything except the cornmeal and flour, to which I added a bit more lemon pepper, salt, onion salt and italian seasoning herbs. It is important to let the salt do the work on the slices, to draw out the water because the key to getting the coating just right is moisture in the beginning. Once the slices are wet from the salt/lemon pepper, COAT in dry mix, DIP in beaten egg (I used two, which is not listed, but trust me you need the egg for a good coat), and COAT again, then fry. Coat, dip, coat, fry. Mantra!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nina's Mom August 27, 2014

It was my first time making f.g.t.'s and thought the recipe turned out great. I used my cast iron skillet which I thought contributed to the nice crispiness. I would use this recipe again but consider dipping the tomatoes in egg white first. I also used it to fry zucchini and it turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annboydsemail October 14, 2012

Good solid recipe with a nice taste! I'd like to play with the spices. Thanks for another great recipe MizzNezz

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish November 29, 2011

I have never made or tried fried green tomatoes, so it may not be the recipe, but my tastes. It just tasted like under ripe tomatoes with some grease on it.... =/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny September 10, 2011

I like a batter made out of buttermilk better. What I didn't like about this recipe is that it didn't call for any eggs. I thought the batter was too grainy and thin. I wasn't impressed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA October 04, 2008

Wow, now I know what all the fuss is about! Yummy. My only problem was that the cornmeal was too gritty. I'll have to look for something that's ground finer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohgal1 August 11, 2008

I never made fried green tomatoes before, so didn't really know what to expect. These were very nice and held up well in my DHs sandwhich, by saying that I mean these did not turn soggy, and the batter remained intact(I told him he HAD to report the 'tomato condition'). I made these for Redneck Club Sandwich Thank You MizzNezz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat August 20, 2006
Granny's Fried Green Tomatoes