13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Suprisingly delicious and colorful. I used half a cabbage head and end up with a pan full of veggies. A+ for taste, A+ for presentation. A++ for giving me a reason to eat my vegetables. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan May 09, 2002

This is easy and delcious! We love cabbage and this is just a perfect cold winter days casserole. Thanks Inez for yet another winner!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue January 25, 2003

This is very tasty. I used an oriental beef paste, which has ginger and garlic in it, as a substitute for the beef broth. The ginger taste really compliments this dish. I also doubled the liquid portion (broth) and added some egg noodles. Will definitely make again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamin October 09, 2002

Great, and easy. Have had to make this recipe every week since I found it. Goes great with corn bread and makes a quick meal. Love cabbage and all the veggies, and it is soooo easy. Thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sue53 July 07, 2002

We love cabbage too, and this pot of stew went quicker than the bat of an eye. I could eat this anytime; I think this would also make a nice meal served with warm bread on a cold winter day. No fuss and inexpensive.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook May 27, 2002

I doubled the meat, used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and didn't measure the cabbage. So I guess I effectively doubled the dish while keeping the liquid the same. I also doubled the garlic powder. I found this to be way too bland. I salted it liberally while eating, but really, I think it needs more herbs and spices. Also, it was a bit wet, so I am definitely glad I didn't decide to also double the broth (it would have been soup, which wasn't what I was looking for).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch August 29, 2013

I was desperate to find a quick and easy ground pork and cabbage recipe and found yours...substituted ground pork for the ground beef. It was so delicious. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that this recipe can be played with a lot. It is a cold winter day today and this really hit the spot. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misuto November 28, 2012

Great recipe to play around with; I added Italian veggies,extra garlic & some cheese tortellini...very hearty & yummy. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrangeOctober December 01, 2007

Yummy, quick and easy! I also used fresh garlic and lots of black pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotchild March 26, 2006

I didn't really like it i just like plain boiled cabbage

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberley peterson March 12, 2006
Ground Beef and Cabbage Stew