Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Ground Beef and Cabbage Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ground Beef and Cabbage Stew

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2002

      Suprisingly delicious and colorful. I used half a cabbage head and end up with a pan full of veggies. A+ for taste, A+ for presentation. A++ for giving me a reason to eat my vegetables. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      This is easy and delcious! We love cabbage and this is just a perfect cold winter days casserole. Thanks Inez for yet another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2002

      This is very tasty. I used an oriental beef paste, which has ginger and garlic in it, as a substitute for the beef broth. The ginger taste really compliments this dish. I also doubled the liquid portion (broth) and added some egg noodles. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      Great, and easy. Have had to make this recipe every week since I found it. Goes great with corn bread and makes a quick meal. Love cabbage and all the veggies, and it is soooo easy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      We love cabbage too, and this pot of stew went quicker than the bat of an eye. I could eat this anytime; I think this would also make a nice meal served with warm bread on a cold winter day. No fuss and inexpensive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      I doubled the meat, used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and didn't measure the cabbage. So I guess I effectively doubled the dish while keeping the liquid the same. I also doubled the garlic powder. I found this to be way too bland. I salted it liberally while eating, but really, I think it needs more herbs and spices. Also, it was a bit wet, so I am definitely glad I didn't decide to also double the broth (it would have been soup, which wasn't what I was looking for).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      I was desperate to find a quick and easy ground pork and cabbage recipe and found yours...substituted ground pork for the ground beef. It was so delicious. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that this recipe can be played with a lot. It is a cold winter day today and this really hit the spot. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Great recipe to play around with; I added Italian veggies,extra garlic & some cheese tortellini...very hearty & yummy. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      Yummy, quick and easy! I also used fresh garlic and lots of black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      I didn't really like it i just like plain boiled cabbage

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      I've made this stew at least a dozen times now and can't believe I haven't reviewed it before. Not only is it delicious, but ingredients are very easy to vary. I use a full pound of ground beef, sometimes add a can of green beans, often some thyme and oregano and always fresh garlic (more than is called for). The two of us eat it for 3-4 meals and it freezer well; it is so satisfying and healthy in addition. When I'm trying to drop a few pounds, this is my "stay" for a few days. I've shared it with many (including my 90 year old Dad who LOVES it)and they, too, say "Thank you MizzNezz."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      I much prefer the cabbage roll casserole to this dish. It was okay but I doubt I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2002

      Very nice Great for low carb diets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ground Beef and Cabbage Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.5
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    50%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 57.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 505.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes