57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was fabulous...just what the doctor ordered on a cold day. I used one huge smoked ham hock and a package of boneless country style pork ribs along with the 15 bean mix. I loved the combinations of the meat. I served this with fresh sliced baguettes. Yum

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie November 08, 2003

This is an editited review. I did try the soup with 15 bean soup also. I found the soup even better that way. Karen you are right. Great for lunches and fast dinners. I loved the simple preperation and ingredients.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ October 04, 2003

So easy and very good! I made this in my crockpot(didn't soak the beans, just washed them and threw them in). I put all the ingredients in my 5qt., filled it with water and cooked in on high for about 6 hours and it came out perfect. I used 2 cups chopped ham, used about 1/4c. minced onions, and 1 Tbsp. garlic salt. I also didn't have any bay leaves on hand, so, I just omitted that. I served this with cornbread that I made the night before, and it was a super easy Sunday lunch that was ready when I walked in the door from church! I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for posting, Karen!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ October 12, 2003

I love recipes like this. Very fast and easy to put together and yet gives out so much flavor and taste. This got 5 stars all around the table. I didn't have ham hocks but I planned on making this and used the bone and meat from a whole ham made two days before and it was fabulous! Thanks for the recipe and I'll be making this off and on throughout the winter that's for sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck in Killbuck October 28, 2003

This is sooo good. I made it in my crockpot. Only had two packages of ham hocks so we added 1 cup of cubed ham. Loved the flavor and are freezing some for another night. Never had 15 beans before but we will from now on. Thank you for a delicious meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skeeter October 20, 2003

This was absolutely wonderful. I made this with pinto beans only. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of adding some extra chopped ham since I only had 3 ham hocks. The soup was the best I have ever made. Thanks for this one that will be used a lot this winter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 12, 2003

LOVE this recipe!! I only tweaked it a bit and added a teaspoon of red pepper flake. I also used pinto beans & New Mexico white beans because, I'm not a fan of red beans. It came out so buttery & delicious, perfect with a nice piece of crusty sourdough! This is definitely my new go-to New Years supper to make after my Christmas ham.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BuckarooPrincess December 03, 2012

Delicious! I spiced it up with some chili powder and a couple of Jalepenos in the last hour of cooking. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Other Sally January 07, 2010

This recipe is delicious WITHOUT the oregano, or with just a hint of it. One tablespoon oregano? That's way too much! I used 1/2 tsp and any more would have been overpowering.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judi mills December 31, 2009

Excellent recipe. I also used the 15 bean soup mix (only the beans), and omitted the garlic since DH can't eat garlic. He nearly ate himself sick on it. Cooked it in the crockpot for 6 hrs on high. Absolutely delicious way to use ham leftovers from Christmas dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari Taylor December 28, 2009
Ham Hocks and Beans