Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Ham Hocks and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham Hocks and Beans

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2003

      This was fabulous...just what the doctor ordered on a cold day. I used one huge smoked ham hock and a package of boneless country style pork ribs along with the 15 bean mix. I loved the combinations of the meat. I served this with fresh sliced baguettes. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      This is an editited review. I did try the soup with 15 bean soup also. I found the soup even better that way. Karen you are right. Great for lunches and fast dinners. I loved the simple preperation and ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2003

      So easy and very good! I made this in my crockpot(didn't soak the beans, just washed them and threw them in). I put all the ingredients in my 5qt., filled it with water and cooked in on high for about 6 hours and it came out perfect. I used 2 cups chopped ham, used about 1/4c. minced onions, and 1 Tbsp. garlic salt. I also didn't have any bay leaves on hand, so, I just omitted that. I served this with cornbread that I made the night before, and it was a super easy Sunday lunch that was ready when I walked in the door from church! I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for posting, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      I love recipes like this. Very fast and easy to put together and yet gives out so much flavor and taste. This got 5 stars all around the table. I didn't have ham hocks but I planned on making this and used the bone and meat from a whole ham made two days before and it was fabulous! Thanks for the recipe and I'll be making this off and on throughout the winter that's for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2003

      This was absolutely wonderful. I made this with pinto beans only. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of adding some extra chopped ham since I only had 3 ham hocks. The soup was the best I have ever made. Thanks for this one that will be used a lot this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      LOVE this recipe!! I only tweaked it a bit and added a teaspoon of red pepper flake. I also used pinto beans & New Mexico white beans because, I'm not a fan of red beans. It came out so buttery & delicious, perfect with a nice piece of crusty sourdough! This is definitely my new go-to New Years supper to make after my Christmas ham.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Delicious! I spiced it up with some chili powder and a couple of Jalepenos in the last hour of cooking. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This recipe is delicious WITHOUT the oregano, or with just a hint of it. One tablespoon oregano? That's way too much! I used 1/2 tsp and any more would have been overpowering.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I also used the 15 bean soup mix (only the beans), and omitted the garlic since DH can't eat garlic. He nearly ate himself sick on it. Cooked it in the crockpot for 6 hrs on high. Absolutely delicious way to use ham leftovers from Christmas dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Great recipe!! The reveiws helped a ton! I put a dash of wine in my soup, which was a great add to a wonderful recipe! thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Oh, you bet......5 stars on this one ! I have never really added herbs to my beans before....so very good. I did have to add about a tsp. of liquid smoke because my ham hocks didn't have much meat or flavor....think they lost it by being frozen ! I did pre-soak the beans.....but they cooked so fast (about 2 hrs.) that I don't think I would have needed to. I will keep this recipe and use it again.......Just Excellent!! Donna

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I made this for a cold Saturday and it hit the spot. Like previous reviewers, I had to use smoked ham hocks, but it turned out wonderfully. I made it again today using half pound of bacon and it was still really good. I did not soak my beans and they still turned out soft and yummy. My crock pot was on high for the first 4 hours and then turned low for the next 4 hours.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      This was delicious! I used 2 smoked pork hocks, and a meaty hambone and leftover ham. The meat was wonderful!! Used 15 beans (16 oz bag), chicken stock for the liquid, and added finely chopped carrot. Also added some pinot noir (because that's what I happened to be drinking!) about 45 minutes before serving it. My picky 10 yo son wouldn't actually eat the beans or meat, but probably ate a cup of the broth sopping it up with crusty italian rolls. Another case of a kid refusing to admit he liked something! Thanks Karen!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      This is sooo good. I made it in my crockpot. Only had two packages of ham hocks so we added 1 cup of cubed ham. Loved the flavor and are freezing some for another night. Never had 15 beans before but we will from now on. Thank you for a delicious meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Five stars all the way. I wanted to make this as a complete dinner so I used Jan Marie's addition of country style ribs. I served this with white rice to add to the bowl- like we do with gumbo. A pan of corn bread and we were all set. I am glad I found the 15 bean mix. This was a new one for us and very tasty. I made the full recipe but since there are only two of us, I packaged up the left overs for the freezer- perfect when you need a bit of comfort. Loved this recipe- a great big thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Beautiful! To suit local availability I used a large smoked ham hock and used a mix of half a dozen or so different dried beans and a few dried chickpeas I had on hand.Very satisfying and wonderful served with a few small crusty bread rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Because of all those Thanksgiving sweets I've consumed, I now have become protien deficient. This wonderful recipe is part of my correction plan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Delicious! Everyone loved it in the family. Thank you for the the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      This was fabulous. I used 2 huge pork hocks (and added a small amount of liquid smoke), 1 bag of pinto beans, and crock potted it. I am amazed at how tender and delicious the beans are. Since my hocks were fresh, I had to add quite a bit of salt (maybe 2T? I didn't pay attention, just kept adding). This was my first time using hocks, and I am very pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      I loved these. Ham Hock are the key, don't try precooked ham hunks, like I did the first time. I'm sure most people would know that, but, hey, I'm still learning! I would also recommend soaking the beans for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham Hocks and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 11.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    77%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beans

    ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites