Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Jalapeno Cheese Grits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno Cheese Grits

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2002

      Your husband is right, these are MUCH better than mashed potatoes. We had them with dinner, but I think they'd be great with breakfast, too. They are easy to make and even my wife and son, who aren't real big fans of grits, raved about this dish. It will definately be something we have again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Delicious, but too spicy for the rest of my family. Next time I'd cut the jalapenos to 1/4 cup. Served with ham but would be perfect with steak, brisket, breakfast....I really like grits:) Thanks for sharing the recipe! Update: made a second batch without jalapenos and it was also good. The best part, I get all of the jalapeno version to myself! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      This was the first time I had grits (and I lived on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi for two years)! They were fabulous. I love the consistency of the undercooked casserole and the flavor of the correctly cooked casserole. My husband arrived for dinner early so we had a casserole that was set on the outside and not on the inside. Either way, it was delicious. Can't wait to eat leftovers at lunch today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I included this recipe in a Christmas brunch. I used jalapeno velveta cheese in stead of the regular velveeta. Everyone took seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Yummo! I cut the recipe to 4 servings and followed the recipe as written. My new favorite comfort food! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Hubby and I thought this was pretty good. I didn't have pickled Jalapeno's, so i just cut up a whole jalapeno and sauteed it to soften it up a bit. In the finished dish, I had expected it to taste a little more cheesy, so I might put in a tad more cheese next time. I did use the velveeta, and instead of monterey jack, I used cheddar only because that is what I had. Next time i would def. use the jack, as we really like the extra spice it adds. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I love trying new recipes. Unfortunately, I made one recently, that while certainly exotic, ended up being completely inedible. I searched frantically through some recipes that utilized the limited ingredients that I had on hand, and came up with jalapeno cheeese grits. Oh, my! These were absolutely divine. I actually served them as a main dish, with a green salad. I did end up using sharp cheddar in place of the velveeta, and also in place of the pepper/jack cheese. (It's all I had on hand) No matter. The result was pure heaven, and dinner was saved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      A friend prepared this dish for a brunch and they were the hit of the meal. Everyone wanted the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Your husband is sooooo right! this is a great dish! Had it for New Year's along with a big pot of black eyed peas. Delicious, I'll make this all the time. This good old Southern girl loved these grits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      These are a real crowd pleaser. My brother-in-law who "doesn't like grits" loves this recipe. For the Monterrey jack cheese, I use 8 oz.. I find that I have to bake longer than 45 minutes for the dish to reach a set condition. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Made this last night for dinner with leftover steak and eggs. My dear husband said it was his favorite! Will absolutely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I made this for Christmas dinner to serve with ham and sweet potato biscuits. Yum! I added sauted andioulle sausange before putting it in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      This was the surprise hit of our Christmas brunch. It was easy enough that I was able to hand the recipe to one of my sons and tell him to go for it. The only substitution he made was to use a roll of Kraft garlic cheese instead of Velveeta. Although we love spicy foods, he decided 1/2 cup of jalapeno slices looked like an awful lot, so he cut back some (not sure how much). It was still fiery-hot and absolutely delicious! Surprisingly, even the leftovers were good when reheated in the microwave. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      A delicious baked grits dish. Grits and mashed potatoes run neck and neck as a favorite in my household. The texture was creamy and the flavor was rich and cheesy with just the right amount of pepper. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      Tastes good, but I goofed and put in a bit too much pepper. Easy to make. Variation: - Warm a tortilla - Add Romaine lettuce bed, for crunch - Scoop Lisa's baked grits into middle - Top with spoonful of plain yogurt - Wrap and enjoy. Delicious! Variation #2: - Didn't have Velveeta, but Cracker Barrel worked fine. BTW, did you know Green Chile Cheese Grits are one of President George W. Bush's favorite foods? This recipe was the closest thing I could find, and my first experience with grits. Came out better than expected. Thanks Lisa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno Cheese Grits

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.9
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    51%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 80.6 mg
    26%
    Sodium 680.9 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites