Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Lentil and Pea Soup (Ham Hocks) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil and Pea Soup (Ham Hocks)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2001

      I just made this soup last night and it was wonderful. The smokey flavor of the ham hocks adds just the right touch. For the base, I added 6 cups low fat chicken broth and then added 6 cups water. I also added thinly sliced Kielbasa sausage during the last half hour, for my husband the carnivore! We dunked bits of Foccacia in ours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2002

      This soup is just like the soup my Mum made when I was growing up, love this sort of smoky flavour in soups, and also the pea and lentil texture. I used 2 ham hocks as the two of them weighed 3 1/2 lbs. This made a huge pot and is very filling. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2002

      We've never tried anything like this and were happy with the results. We also replaced 6 cups of the water with fat free chicken broth . Instead of the ham hocks, we used 99% fat free ham steak. Very yummy...and very healthy!! Especially if it is a cold day outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      I'm going back to the store and buying two more ham hocks! This was GREAT. Dorothy, the kids even liked it, pea soup. Can you believe that! I've never put lentils in pea soup before. This is a nice combination of the two flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      This was delicious. Couldn't find ham hocks in Hong Kong but did find an imported cooked turkey leg and it turned out beautifully. Makes a large quantity, so cut it in half if you don't want to be eating it all week, or try freezing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      I've made this soup several times and it's always a big hit. We're vegetarians so I substitute fake ham flavoring for the ham hocks. I also make it in a pressure cooker to save time - takes about 20 minutes and we're ready to eat! The spices really blend well in this soup and give it a very savory flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      love this soup.. this is my second time making it. I used less water then called for, and half of that was chicken broth. I added extra onion also.thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      I didn't blend it because I cut up a joint of ham and added it in early. Tastes good unblended too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Fabulous! I loved this hearty soup. I used cubed ham instead of hamhocks and it had a wonderful flavor! I will definitely make this a lot during the cold weather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I didn't have ham hocks, so I used 1 pound of smoked ham diced up. I also didn't use the celery due to allergy. This was tasty, but I wasn't happy with the texture. We used only 8 cups of water and it was still watery. Also I didn't have lentils so I used some yellow peas and more green peas. Also I cooked this in my crock pot. We had this as the main course for a birthday party and the pot was literally licked clean! Thanks Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Tasty soup that was exactly what I was looking for. I love the combo of the lentils and split peas, and the ham hocks make it super tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Very good but not the lentil soup recipe I was looking for....but it was a very nice surprise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I didn't make it exactly as indicated but the bones are there! I think the best part was to use smoked ham hocks--they really made a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I just finished making this soup, I'm eating a bowl right this minute...it is SO good!!! This soup is right up my alley. I made a double batch so that I can have some in the ol' freezer. I can't wait for my sweetie to come home because I know he will be in love. I am loving this smokey flavour from the ham hocks!! Oh yeah, my lentils were red not brown (are they the same?) and they disappeared into the soup along with the peas. Thanks for the recipe, I love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2004

      Nice hearty meal. Used 1 ham bone and 2 unsmoked ham hocks. Substituted the lentils/split peas with a 450g Golden Harvest Soup Mix consisting of yellow/green split peas,alphabet pasta, pearl barley, long grain rice and red lentils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil and Pea Soup (Ham Hocks)

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.7
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    10%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 612.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes