Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Linda's Collard Greens With a Twist Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Linda's Collard Greens With a Twist

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2011

      Wow! These were fantastic! I've only made collards once before, and they were not very good. I thought I'd try one more time, and came across this recipe; glad I did! Will be making these again very soon. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      There is so much flavor in these greens, I couldn't believe it! I am going to try this with swiss chard and mustard greens too! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      OMG....this was my first time ever making collard greens, I just always thought it was hard to make and time consuming. Making this recipe changed all that, this recipe was YUMMY IN MY TUMMY!! The ingredients were just right....I love vinegar over my greens, cooking it in the recipe saved that step and just made the flavor POP!! This is definitely a meal in itself too....No more canned collards for me!! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Wonderful! I only make this once a year (New Years Day) due to the high calories, but it is worth the wait. I don't know why I haven't reviewed this before now. We live in the DEEP south and this is the best recipe I have found for greens. I use pork neck bones. It is easy to go overboard on the salt so go slow, you can always add more if you like.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Such flavor and we really enjoyed these using kale. I can't think of a better way to make greens than this! I plan to try them with other types of greens. I am sure they would be just as good as with the kale. We loved every bite, and I have added them to my special recipes file!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I been busy cooking up a storm. Between beans and greens I've spent some time in the kitchen! These collards are by far the best tasting greens I have ever had, and I've had quite a few traveling around! They have such awesome flavors going on. The pepperoncini peppers and juice have such a zippy taste it really boosts the flavors of all the other ingredients to make these "To Die For"!! I got done eating these and I was shaking my head wondering how something so easy to make could taste so darn good! Yummy. Thanks for posting it for us! Sheryl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Update: Have made these greens several times now and it has fast become one of our favorite side dishes. Flavors are so delicious! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Ohhhhhh boy...These greens are wonderful! Just the right amount of flavors going on here. Loved the pepper addition Linda. Awesome taste with every bite. We couldn't leave them alone. Made exactly as posted and they were a huge success with my dinner! Best greens we have ever had!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Yummy to my tummy! I followed the recipe to a T, and we were very happy to indulge when these tasty greens were done. Wow! Packed with all sorts of wonderful flavor. I don't know when I have enjoyed a veggie dish so much, especially greens. Thank you so much for this much appreciated recipe Linda! Alexa

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Oh Lordy, this recipe is goooooood! I made these collards along with Hoppin' John for my New Years Day traditional Southern dinner. What an incredible recipe for collards, and the best I have ever had hands down! Do try them and see for yourself what I'm talking about! Debbie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made this recipe for Christmas and it was a HUGE HIT! I am about to make it for New Year's Day and am looking forward to enjoying the leftovers. These truly are some of the best collards I have ever had (and I was born and raised in the South) ... thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      I just joined Zaar and this is the first recipe I tried. The picture looked so good I just had to give them a try. You want to talk about flavor? These are out of this world and better than any I ever made or had anywhere. Thank you Linda for this great addition to my recipe file!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      WAAAAAY too much salt. Had to throw out the entire pot of greens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Very good. I put everything in a crock pot and I used mustard green instead of collard greens. I didn't have chicken stock or the pepperoncini peppers so I substitute with 2 teaspoon of Knorr Chicken bouillon, 1 teaspoon of crushed pepper and a few dash of tobasco sauce. It came out wonderful. Keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      i havent made your recipe, but this is pretty much how my stepmom makes them, and my dad eats them. she uses all the 'cast-off' meat parts, and my dad pours a bit of home-canned pepper juice and some peppers in it. it was great that way! though she doesnt use garlic, i do when i make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Linda's Collard Greens With a Twist

    Serving Size: 1 (623 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.0
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    11%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3602.3 mg
    150%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pork neck bones

    pepperoncini pepper juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites