Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Mean Chef Chicken, Andouille, Ham and Okra Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef Chicken, Andouille, Ham and Okra Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2014

      This recipe was very very good. My family loved it! Your instructions were clear and easy to follow. The roux turned out beautiful and the seasonings went well together. Thank you for sharing this simple yet delicious recipe! It is a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Soooooo good! I used fresh green beans in lieu of the okra (my DH won't eat okra). I used olive oil to make the roux and I wouldn't change anything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

    • on October 01, 2009

      Very enthusiastically received. Time consuming, but low stress. I halved the recipe. I must have whisked too fast or heated too slowly, because even after half an hour, my roux was more butternut golden than chocolate brown. I omitted hot sauces because good andouille has enough kick for us, and I stirred the rice into the gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      This tasted wonderful. My Wife Loved it. I didn't like the roux, the browned flour and oil smell was too much for me. Once the soup was finished everything was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      This came out great. I pretty much made as directed, but was using assorted leftover portions of the meats, so my quantities weren't exact. I also threw in meat from a couple of smoked turkey legs. It was terrific all the same! My husband started begging me to make it again the moment the last drop was gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      The flavor in this recipe is great. I did have one issue which is why I am giving it 4 stars. I followed the insturctions perfectly but some how my okra turn out very mushy and when the leftovers had cooled enough for me to transfer them, I stirred the pot and they had gotten slimmy. This may have been a personal problem but I think one hour is a long time to cook okra. I had to throw out the leftovers :( I do like every thing else about this recipe so I will make again but omit the okra and add shrimp at the end instead. I am from Louisiana and can say this recipe is very good and everyone should try it. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      This gumbo is so good that I’d drive to New Orleans (from Ohio!) to pay some fat guy with a stupid catch-phrase $20 for a bowl of it. At the same time it was also very hard to make for someone of my skill level. I’m sure that there are all sorts of tricks to do the prep work faster, but I didn’t know them. I guess a better cook than me would be efficient and confident enough to do all of the prep work at the same time – like grill the chicken, cut up the veggies, and make the rue. By the time I reached step 3, at least an hour and a half had passed. At that point – don’t make this mistake – I proceeded to put FROZEN okra (I live in Ohio, remember? There is no “okra season” here) in the pot. Bottom line: It took 20 minutes longer for the veggies to wilt than it was supposed to. I wish someone would have given me this advice: Throw out your cheap plastic spoon and get a sturdy wooden one. This gumbo eats plastic spoons for lunch. This gumbo is worth all of the work, enough if your make every one of the mistakes I did and more. It’s very easy to save some money if you switch things up and buy whatever meats are on sale. It tastes awesome, even if you serve it with a lot of rice to make the pot of gumbo stretch further. If you stock up on a nice selection of hot sauces it can be fun and new every day you eat the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      this is the best gumbo recipe i have found and i have tried alot of them. i also added some shrimp at the end because gumbo just needs a little of that seafood flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      Just finished eating this and it was wonderful! I followed it to a T with the exception of the sausage-I already had Chorizo so I tried that. It seemed to work. I chose to skip the rice and managed just fine. Anyway, no more sticky, pre-fab gumbos for me. This is the real deal. My compliments to the Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      I’d give more than 5 stars to this, if I could! It’s another masterpiece from Mean Chef! Thanks so much for all your wonderful postings. I used my grandmother’s old cast-iron skillet to make the dark, chocolate-colored roux and a sausage combo of 1# of andouille and 1/2# of kielbasa. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. BTW – this makes a lot you’ll need an 8 qt. pot, at least. After eating this dish, my wife decided that she didn’t hate okra, after all. Of course, I didn’t tell her that there was okra in the dish until she’d eaten half a bowl. I enjoyed that so much that the next night I took some gumbo to my mother-in-law’s home and got her (apparently, she’s the one who poisoned my wife’s mind against okra) to enjoy a huge bowl of this delicious brew. I just loved the momentary pause of the spoon at her lips when I slipped the detested word “okra” into the conversation. It was fun, even if I’m going to have to use my wife as a food-taster when I go to her house for dinner next week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      Excellent gumbo. The dark roux gives it a complex and deep flavor and I'm a sucker for anything with okra in it. :) The combination of meats makes this a very hearty meal -- I can do just fine without any rice with it. Great especially for those who do not like seafood or have seafood allergies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef Chicken, Andouille, Ham and Okra Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (731 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 920.6
     
    Calories from Fat 447
    48%
    Total Fat 49.6 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 53.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2291.7 mg
    95%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.1 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 34.5 g
    69%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hot smoked sausage

    chicken meat

    Pickapeppa Sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites