Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Memaw's Collard Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Memaw's Collard Greens

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2002

      Thanks for sharing this recipe. My mother-in-law is famous for her greens but isn't forthcoming with how she makes them. I tried your recipe with mustard greens and I think they tasted better than hers. I made two big pots, one that we had for Thanksgiving and I froze the other in several 4-serving containers so we can have them in the months to come. Thanks Mark.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      UNREAL COLLARDS. My northern-born hubby laughed at this dish...AND he detests most veggies. So I said "okay, just at least try the juice." He was hooked and ate two servings. These greens just glisten. If you have never tried collards...use THIS recipe. Perfect just as is and fool-proof. Also, I was able to find collards in my grocery store that were already washed and torn, although a few stems left in and some rather large leaves, a real time-saver and a big help for someone unfamilliar with the rinsing and tearing process. Thanks x 1,000,000!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      Ok I admit, I was skeptical, timid, ok down right afraid but I decided to give this recipe a go and Mark, my man.....I am so happy I did. I made these this weekend when the family was out so as to not possible scare them with something foreign and new. I did use the mustard greens as I was told they were milder and followed every step of your recipe as I (did not know what I was doing) the results were fantasic (although my kids still wouldn't try them but Dh and I thought they were a slice of green heaven. I have come to find out DH will at least try anything with bacon but he and I truly enjoyed this. Thank you Mark for the dish and bringing more country in the girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      These collard greens were a hit with my DH! He's been asking me to make him some for over a year now. I had never cooked collards before and had no idea where to even start. DH said I must not be a true southern girl if I didn't know how to cook collards! Well, I showed him, with the help of your recipe! I followed the directions exactly and I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

      I never made greens before and I tried these and loved them, now I know what i have been missing and will make them again, and your right about how good they smell when they are cooking, the sweet thing is they taste even better! Thanks Mark:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2001

      I omitted the sugar and used chicken stock instead, these are true blue greens. Doesn't get easier or tastier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      My Alabama friend rolls up a few collard leaves and slices them like you would noodles. Says that's the way her mother did them and it works! The smoked meat she uses makes a very tasty dish. Adds turnip pieces, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      YUMMY!! I used a whole package of bacon and threw in some dried minced onion as well. My bacon wasn't smoked, so I threw in a little liquid smoke. Mine was a mix of greens and was ready in 2 hours. DELISH! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      These were excellent and very well received by all the adults. I agree with a previous poster that next time I would most likely use just a bit less sugar and also chop the bacon up a bit more. Definitely worth the long cooking time. All in all a delightful way to use up a very bountiful harvest of collards from my winter garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      YUM! Made this for my dinner club and everyone loved it- for most it was their first time eating greens. I used collards, turnip and mustard greens, and fried the chopped up bacon first, then followed the directions as written. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This was my first attempt at Collards and it was SOOOO GOOD. I made exactly as directed. This year I am adding fatback for more flavoring cause the hubby wants. They were very good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Excellent. Period!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

    • on January 17, 2008

      Awesome! Great directions- Next time I make these I will use less sugar because they seemed very sweet to me but I didn't use bacon either so that may be why. They were great though. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Very nice recipe. I have to admit to being a Southern girl who couldn't cook collards. (The shame!) My grandmother always did it, and I could never get it quite right. Looks like the sugar was the secret. I made a few small changes, in that I used salt pork instead of bacon, just because I had some around, and added a few red pepper flakes. This one's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      way too much sugar!!!....way too much water!!!!!and since smoked bacon has a sweet taste to it already...its too sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      To much sugar. If you dont like bacon use smoke turkey. i cut up onions, and bell pepper in my collard green and also add a little vegetable oil instead of bacon grease like we used to. From rappin granny...St. louis Mo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      Awesome! I never knew what I was missing. I used turnip greens and Splenda. I will skip the salt entirely next time and just season when they're finished. I had planned to remove the bacon as I didn't want to actually eat it but discovered that after 4 hours of simmering the bacon had just about dissolved and disappeared. Next time I'll remove it after the first 2 hours and see if it affects the flavor much. I enjoyed eating some of the smaller stems as they were as tender as the leaves after cooking. I've got 3 bunches of collard greens in the frig and can't wait to them. Give this one a go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Memaw's Collard Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.5
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    47%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 41.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 918.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    48%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites