Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / My Grandmother's Fresh Peach Cobbler Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Grandmother's Fresh Peach Cobbler

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2003

      I have yet to try it, because I brought it to a potluck (and had to have choc cheesecake), but I got rave reviews for this cobbler! What's best is that although I'm originally from Chicago and now live in Alberta, a "southern gent" from North Carolina told me this was the best peach cobbler he'd ever had! Woo-hoo! Thankfully there is a tiny bit left, so I know what I'm having for breakfast tomorrow! Oh, I doubled the recipe but oops, put it in a 9x13, which wasn't quite big enough; it all spilled over in my oven, but it's ok . . .the smell was just yummalicious. Took longer to bake too, this way--about 45 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Holy sugar Batman! This was very sweet. If I made this again, I would cut the sugar in half. I used home-canned peaches in the cobbler, and it took me double the time to bake it. I think it would have been great if it weren't so sweet. We may or may not try this again. Thanks Giggle Box!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I had to try another recipe from Elmolvsu's grandmother, and it's a winner as well. So easy and so tasty. Simplicity at its best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      this was wonderful thank you for sharing your grandmothers recipe. my family loved it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      Sheer Heaven! I used 6 peaches, which must have been too much for my 8 x 8 inch glass pan because my cobbler made a mess over-flowing in my oven. But this cobbler tastes so incredible, I don't even mind the clean-up! I do suggest however, those using 6 peaches either use a slightly larger baking pan or else use a drip pan under your cobbler to catch those drips ;) Thank you so much for sharing your grandmother's recipe, Elmolvsu! She really knew her cobbler!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      This was delicious! I used Splenda in the crust and just 1/2 c of sugar on top and it was plenty sweet. I also used closer to 10 peaches topped with cinnamon because we love peaches. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      Oh my...call us gluttons, if you will. I decided to make this as a treat during a visit from our son, so with only 3 of us, I expected to have some left-over for lunch the next day. Not! Since peaches are out of season, I used peaches we froze last fall so it took a little longer to bake, but the extra wait was worth. You should have seen the enjoyment on my son's face throughout every bite! This will definitely be a keeper in my recipe collection; in fact, I'm thinking I'll pop another one in the oven this evening! Thank you for sharing with us Elmo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      EXCELLENT! I just made this, served it warm, it was wonderful and easy too! I did add some cinnamon and had to bake for about 40 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Made mine in a glass baking dish and had to cook 40 min. Turned out great though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      I used 6 small peaches, added cinnamon and 1/2 cup sugar in the batter as well as the topping. It was plenty sweet and baked up fine. It took 30 minutes in my oven. We really enjoyed this cobbler and will make again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      I've made this recipe both with fresh peaches and with a can of cherry pie filling. SO simple and delicious, will make often! I did reduce the sugar somewhat at the advice of other reviews. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Used fresh peaches and it took 40-45 minutes to bake. Absolutely fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      This was very easy, & delicious! I bookmarked and will make it again. I did cut the sugar just a tiny bit b/c my peaches are especially sweet by themselves this year. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon both in the milk mixture and on top just before baking. My oven took about 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This really tasted fabulous and my entire family liked it. I added 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon and ginger to the final sugar as per other reviews. I think it needed to cook longer. It wasn't at all cakey. After 30 mins it came out gooey and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Great recipe. I made a few changes, personal tastes. I reduced the sugar on the top to 1/2 cup which was both white and brown sugar. I also sprinkled cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice on top before baking. A great dessert and probably breakfast too! Thanks Elmolvsu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      This cobbler was pretty good, but I think less butter would have worked better. It took about an hour for mine to cook at 350F. Even then the middle remained a little too mushy. Tasted good anyway though! Next time I try it I'll add less butter and see if it helps the consistancy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      I made this recipe today, and it was our special Independence Day celebration! DH had had dental surgery earlier this week and couldn't eat anything that required much chewing. So our usual barbecued "something" got set aside. But this wonderful cobbler made the day feel like a true holiday! I did add some freshly grated nutmeg to the flour mixture, and although it didn't change things much, I think it was a nice addition. I bought some peaches at a farm market, and was surprised to find that the peaches were white. They sort of mushed up, but it didn't matter. It was absolutely delicious! Summer holiday fun, to be sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      LOVED IT! This tastes like my mom's peach cobbler. Very easy and I made it with a large can of peaches minus the juice. It was also great with whole wheat pastry flour. Next time I will add a pinch of salt because I always use unsalted butter and I like the sweet and salty combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Great cobbler! I used fresh peaches and nectarines. Maybe they were excessively juicy, but I found that I had to almost double the baking time to get the center to set. This recipe definitely goes on my "make again" list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      This was scrumptious! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and used brown sugar on top instead of white. I'll definitely make this again! I can't wait to try it with other fruits. The second time I made it I used whole wheat flour and cut back on the butter and sugar a little and we liked it even better. � Sep 12, 2005 Edited to add that I tried this with a combination of nectarines and blueberries with excellent results. I used about 1/2 cup of granulated sugar in the batter, and maybe another 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the topping and found it plenty sweet. I also put a little vanilla in the batter. Edited because I realized I hadn't given it any stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Grandmother's Fresh Peach Cobbler

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 406.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    20%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 204.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.6 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 60.4 g
    241%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes