Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Oven Fried Okra Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oven Fried Okra

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2008

      A *huge* success at my dinner table! DH loves fried okra and I hate to make it. This made us both happy. Using frozen okra, already sliced, I dumped the whole bag in a colander and rinsed it to separate the pieces. While it was still frozen, I tossed it in the cornmeal, put it on the baking sheet and spritzed it with cooking spray. To avoid drying it out, I upped the temp to 425F and decreased the bake time to 20 minutes. That worked great - it was crispy and browned but still moist inside. I think it could have used a little more seasoning in the coating, garlic powder perhaps, but we were *very* happy with it as it was. I am sure this will become a regular side dish here! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This is a great way to prepare okra. You can also soak the okra in buttermilk for 30 min. and then following the recipe. It's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      Really good okra,Very low fat yet yummy, DH & I both enjoyed this VERY much. Made it just like the recipe said, I used frozen okra. that we grew in our our garden. used release foil for esy cleanup. Sprayed the foil then sprayed the okra when I put it on the foil, this helps to hold the cornmeal on the okra. Thank you Paula for another yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I added 1/2 Tbs. garlic powder and a good sprinkle of creole seasoning -- we loved the flavor! I didn't really have a problem with the cornmeal sticking to the okra, and it turned out better than the last time I made it! *Note: don't try this with flour (or even half flour), it just does not look pretty. Tastes good, though, lol*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      I made this and # 166012 and the other is MUCH better. I added about 20% flour and Cajun seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      Very good. I used half corn meal and half bread crumbs. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This worked out great for me. We have tons of fresh okra and I really wanted to make fried okra with it... this was definitely a great alternative! I added in Cajun seasoning and left out the salt. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Very good! Higher heat worked better for me. Added garlic salt, can't wait to try other spice mixes. My kids loved it too! And it's Weight Watcher's CORE because it uses cornmeal and just pam spray. Yay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This is my favorite oven fried okra recipe to date and best of it didn't require me to go buy anything I don't keep on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      Oh fantastic! I couldn't believe how amazingly simple and yummy this turned out- I LOVE fried okra, and have been searching for a way to make it easily at home. A nearby farm sells there homegrown okra at amazingly low prices- I will be eating this all summer guilt-free! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This is a wonderful lowfat alternative to fried okra. I made it last week and really enjoyed it. My only concern is that it turned out kind of dry at the end. Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Good recipe!!!!!!! I didn't have any cornmeal so i used bread crumbs and i also used frozen okra. Thanks 4 posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      We had this tonight and everyone loved it. I also followed the suggestion for using foil and spraying it and the okra with the cooking spray. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      I was pleasantly surprised at how good this was! I used foil and low fat veg spray on the pan and a bit on top of the okra, too. Nothing beats fresh okra! (It's hard to find around here so finding recipe that did it justice was extra great!)Thanks for the easy, lowfat recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      This is just like fried okra but I found it to be kinda dried out to much. My oven my have been the problem though. I will make again cause it is better than frying in oil. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oven Fried Okra

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.5
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    77%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 156.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites