94 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this twice now for potlucks and it has received raves each time. I never have self-rising flour, so I added 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. salt. This is an effortless recipe that is wecome at summer potlucks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaJuneBug July 12, 2009

Good news: I made peach cobbler last night! Bad news: we weren't sure we could stop eating it.

I used a little less margarine; that made tasty crispy edges! I don't buy self-rising flour, so I added 1 1/2 tsp baking powder (also homemade actually) and 1/4 tsp salt to 1 cup all-purpose flour. I used slightly less sugar too. I used 4 fresh peaches instead of canned peaches since that looked like a 15 oz can equivalent, but I wish I had had 6 or 8 peaches to use. I used some caramel popcorn sprinkles in addition to lots of cinnamon sugar. It came together quickly, and it tastes better than anything so fast should taste!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope June 25, 2011

Forgot to put the cinnamon sugar on top, made it with coconut oil instead of butter, used both fresh peaches and fresh cherries... still awesome! Thanks for posting...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MotleyCook September 06, 2011

Sorry this recipe leaves much to be desired. I came out a bit rubbery and i had to do too much tweeking. No too impressed. It did have a good flavor and it was an easy recipe but the finished product wasn't as great as many of you have said it to be. I will be looking for a better recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddoane720 November 28, 2014

Thanks for sharing. This was quick and easy. I doubled as follows: 1/2 cup unsalted butter, 2 cups sugar, 2 cups milk, 2 cups self rising flour, 1 (29 ounce) can sliced peach halves in light syrup, cinnamon sugar on the top. The cinnamon sugar settled to the center. I will mix cinnamon only in the peaches and use less sugar next time because it was too sweet for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csbndc August 04, 2010

Very good and Very easy! If you like less breading (which I do!) this recipe is great! I used thawed frozen peaches instead of canned and it wasn't over sweet. I will continue to make this cobbler!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ellis August 26, 2009

I used 1/2 c. butter (plenty!) and fresh peaches which I allowed to masticate in 1/2 c. simple syrup for a couple of hours to get a syrup. SSanguine's idea to use vanilla is a good one! It's a very simple recipe that tastes so good, great with cream or vanilla ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
East Wind Goddess August 17, 2009

This is a nice easy cobbler but I found 3 problems: 1.- The pan suggested is 13 X 9 I used self-rising flour and it was like a flat pancake. 2.- The recipe does not state what peach can size so I used some medium size that was not enough for the dough. 3.- The cobbler was swimming in fat. The taste is very nice and it is very easy to make. Next time I will double the amount or bake in a smaller pan. I will not use that much butter just spray the pan an maybe a few dots of butter are enough my opinion. Thank you again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef h&h September 09, 2008

Not for me! I prefer a more crusty cobbler, not dumpling-y or gummy. This one is definitely more dumpling-y. The bottom did not rise. It just laid there like a wet, flat pancake. It was rubbery too. Other reviewers said both of these things & now I understand why. It's 2am & I just dumped two of these out & went with a completely different recipe. The potluck is tomorrow & I have to be at the office at 7:30am. Very, very disappointed & sleepy. This was a very simple, inexpensive recipe but it just didn't work for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T Hewitt W. June 24, 2015

This was the first peach cobbler I've ever made and it was amazing!! I used brown sugar and apple pie spice for the cinnamon sugar. Turned out amazing!Thx for sharing??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 07, 2015
Peach Cobbler