Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Perfect Southern Greens (Kale, Beet, Collard Greens, Mustard) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Southern Greens (Kale, Beet, Collard Greens, Mustard)

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2010

      NcMystery; This is the way my family has been doing it since I was in three corner pants.(I'll be 80 in April). THE ONLY difference is that I cook the bacon and add the onions etc. to the bacon fat. Just an added flavor to relish. Where I come from pork rules and the only thing we never used was the oink. Simply because we couldn't catch it. Cap'n Jack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      Yehaw! We loved these! The dinner bell was a ringin' and the people came a runnin! I followed this exactly, and had a ham hock and threw that in as well. Wow! These are amazing, and I don't know about bitter greens, I've never had them, but I can tell you these are as smooth as a load of jello on a greased dish. It's great and beneficial to cook these low and slow, so all the special ingredients combine and marry in a perfect ceremony. Perfection on a country plate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I'm a veggie, so subbed a bit of sesame oil for the bacon---nice nutty flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      The best greens ever. And they freeze well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      I had no idea kale could be so delicious! I had a bunch to use from my weekly CSA food share, and I stumbled upon this recipe. My husband and I were both in awe. We left out the spicy ingredients, because I like things mild and I didn't happen to have a jalapeno on hand. I cubed up a ham steak I had in the freezer, but the cubes dried out and weren't very good. Next time I will just omit the ham and use more bacon. The flavor was just wonderful and the greens were very nice and tender, which I didn't think was possible given how tough they are raw. Thank you for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      I thought this recipe had excellent flavor. I used lmustard greens only, unch meat/cooked ham and I only used half a cup of water in the slow cooker. I didn't want my greens too watery. Great recipe. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      I have never made greens myself before so I wasn't sure what to expect. These were really good, and my parents liked them as well. I did vary the prep just a bit. I sauteed the onions and veg in bacon grease, then added broth and wilted my greens down this way before throwing it all in a slow cooker. I used diced ham, but also added a smoked ham hock to the slow cooker and shredded the meat into the greens before serving. Great with low carb cornbread. Thanks for sharing! I just used the premixed cut greens in the bag for this. I wilted down 2 bags for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      These collards are awsome. First time I've ever cooked them. I usually get then at a bbq joint. But this recipes blows them out of the water. This one defininaty goes in my keeper recipes. Thx for posting it . Love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      This recipe rocks!! I used swiss chard, beet greens and arugula plus 4 porkhocks. Just used bacon fat to cook the onions and no red pepper seeds but did leave some of the jalapeno seeds in.....Nice bite to this!! Removed the meat from the hocks and chopped up then added back to pot along with some cooked white rice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      Being from "the North," I have no taste experience to compare this to. I'm not sure I've ever had greens before, but decided to grow them this year in my garden. I used a mixture of fresh mustard, kale, and collard greens. It was really good! Probably not one of my favorite side dishes, but for what it was, I'll give it 5 stars. I threw in a chicken bouillon cube because I was afraid it wouldn't have enough flavor. I'm not sure how much of a difference it made, but it was good. The crushed red pepper really came through and made it pretty spicy. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      These were good but too much onion flavor. Missing something but couldn't put my finger on what it was. Definitely not bitter and very easy to eat but the onion over powered and I love onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      I love this recipe. Unfortunately, the dish disappears as soon as I make it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      Wow. Greens that I will actually eat!!! Excellent flavor. I did make a couple of modifications - doubled the onion and cooked it to carmelized since I love carmelized onion and figured that would help me get the greens down if I didn't like them... Also left out the ham as we don't have any, but of course used bacon fat because they just ain't southern greens without the bacon fat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Cap'n Jack is right, always use the bacon drippings! I'm not 80 but most of my family is about that age, and hard-core Southern cooking requires use of all the pork! Otherwise, it's just wrong :) Does anyone know where to find Polk Salat? tigerred

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

    • on March 13, 2010

      Without a doubt, the best greens I've ever eaten too! These were just incredible, I can't thank you enough! If only all veggies could be this tasty. No restaurant or pre-made greens could ever compare! I could go on, but I won't. I doubled the recipe, and it *just* fit in my smaller sized crock-pot...but they cooked perfectly. 'Nuff said...thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Really good! On my New Year's Day list from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I loved them! I got my husband and daughter to eat their spoonful for the year, but the rest are mine! lol Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Best southern greens my family has ever tasted!! Even my mom, who is from South Dakota and normally doesn't go for this traditional southern stuff, said they were great. The spice level was perfect for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      My daughter is moving to Georgia so we cooked this in honor or her new home. It was delicious and easy. The only changes were to the amount of heat (less for us) and I added a can of low sodium chicken broth. I also browned the ham and bacon and sauteed the onion, garlic in the fat. I cooked it on the stove top, which worked great. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Southern Greens (Kale, Beet, Collard Greens, Mustard)

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.8
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    54%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 8.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 210.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beet leaves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes