Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Smothered Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2012

      Excellent cabbage and kielbasa recipe, full of home town flavor. Made as written with a couple of changes, I omitted the cayenne pepper, used a red onion and added sliced Baby Bella mushrooms, once everything was sauteed I poured in a bottle of Guinness Extra Stout and let simmer for 40 minutes covered and the final 10 minutes uncovered, which produced a nice sauce and a great meal. Thanks. Made for Mommy Diva's Cook-A-Thon 2012 ~ Fight Like a Girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Wimps, beware; but chiliheads, rejoice! :) I'd never made this with andouille before. Turning it into 'Cajun Cabbage' really did it for me. Was it ever spicy -- and delicious! The stores here all carry it in 12-oz. pkg. instead of 16-oz., so I was a little short on the sausage but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. However, the amount of meat didn't seem skimpy at all. In fact, if using a whole pound, I'd increase the cabbage. Thanks for sharing, and you keep fightin, girl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Really delicious cabbage dish. Easy to make and uses ingredients I usually have on hand. I'm not a spicy food person but the amount of heat from the cayenne was "just right" for me. Made for Mommy Diva's Cook-A-Thon 2012 ~ Fight Like a Girl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      This was excellent. Just what I was looking for. thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      This is so incredibly yummy!! My Mom used to make this when I was little and I always loved it but couldn't remember how to make it. This was exactly the same, I'm so glad I made it! I used a Kielbasa because I know that's what my Mom used to use and I didn't add the cayenne pepper because I have small children who don't like spicy foods. It was wonderful! I made it with a homemade sweet cornbread and it was a perfect compliment to it. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      I love how simple the ingredients for this recipe are. I recently made this a few months ago when looking for something new to try. My boyfriend isn't a fan of cabbage, but he LOVED this dish. I'm actually making this for the second time - for dinner tonight.
      Thank you for sharing this recipe; I will be making it for years to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Easy and delicious meal. I made cornbread to go with this. My family gobbled it up! We will make this again and double the ingredients

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      My DH said make this again. He doesn't say that much. I made it as written and loved the spice in it. I had to use turkey sausage because that is what was here. But it was still wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      We really enjoyed this!! I used spicy andoullie sausage and added a red bell pepper. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      I make this same thing, except I use low fat turkey sausage and do not quite cook it as long so that my cabbage is a little more "crunchy." You can add your favorite seasoning during the browning of the sausage to give it a little zing (I like cajun seasoning, I don't use the cayenne). It's good with white beans and cornbread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Very Good. We enjoyed this for lunch just by itself and ate the whole batch! I made as directed except that I cut the cooking time with lid to around 25 minutes due to time commitments. I think the 25 minutes was perfect. Thanks MD.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This is sooooo good. I served this tonight for supper on top of mashed potatoes. I did add some margarine while it was cooking but otherwise followed recipe. We loved this and its very economical too. thank you for sharing your recipe with us, we will make it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I made this yummy dish last night and enjoyed some for my take-to-work lunch today (so easy to re-heat in the microwave) and again tonight for dinner with Roasted Dijon Potatoes and Asparagus Omelette Wraps. I omitted the cayenne pepper (personal taste preference), added some minced garlic to the onion and added some sweet paprika. I used a Savoy cabbage. A fabulous recipe that I'll certainly be making again. Thanks for sharing it, Momma Diva. Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2014

      This was delicious! I nestled some new potatoes on top of the cabbage for a one pan dinner. Gobbled up by all. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Loved how easy and great flavor. Used one red and one small onion plus coleslaw mis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      Great recipe. I'm a New Orleans girl and this recipe is almost exactly the way I make it except I also throw in a few carrots and red potatoes. I also saute a bit of garlic with the onion. If I have some bacon I need to get rid of, i'll put some of that in as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Very yummy recipe. quick prep time. Cook time goes by very fast. no work required at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      Deeeelicious!! I used 2lbs kielbasa & 1 small head of cabbage. Wellllll....the fam said I need to up it to 3lbs kielbasa & a bigger head of cabbage. :o There were NO leftovers. Served over plenty of rice, too. I only added about 1/2tsp salt because of the salty sausage & only cooked it 20 minutes which was perfect. LOVE how the pan deglazes while cooking covered.....yummmm. THANK YOU for a scrumptious dinner & continue to FIGHT LIKE A GIRL!!! xoxoxo Bethie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Very tasty dish! So simple yet the ingredients meld together nicely. I cut the recipe in half since it's just the 2 of us and I didn't want alot of leftovers. I followed Papa D's review and added a bottle of Guinness since I needed to use it up. Made for Mommy Diva's Cook-a-thon 2012 ~ Fight Like A Girl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.0
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    69%
    Total Fat 32.4 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 69.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1564.2 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 16.8 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes