Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Smothered Pork Chops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Pork Chops

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2012

      I love this recipe! I use tomato paste instead of sauce and serve with mashed cauliflower for an awesome low carb supper. Leaves us wanting to lick our plates!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This is one of the best recipes I have found on th e zaar. It quickly became a family favorite. I prepare it as the recipe is and have served with mashed potatoes and with rice, both are great, we can't decide which is better!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      This was really good! I used tomato paste instead of sauce and omitted the bacon and onion due to personal preference. Instead I sauteed the mushrooms with 2 cloves of garlic in the pan after I removed the seared pork chops. I also added a bit of white wine to the broth/cream (I only had 1/2 and 1/2 and that worked fine) mixture. I really liked the chops baked in a sauce! I served over rice pilaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      Excellent recipe. Love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Made this tonight for dinner and it was yummy. I used olive oil instead of butter, fat free half and half instead of whipping cream, and 1 tbs tomato paste. I could just eat the sauce by itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Excellant ! I made the recipe as directed - it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I thought it looked good, and I was right. My husband said "oh wow, that looks good". Then he said "OMG this is really good", then he said "I can't stop eating this" and now he's taking a nap. Golden Recipe! Instructions and ingredients are spot on! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      This sauce is a great base you could use with so many things. I took some liberties as well. I subbed Sofrito Sauce for the tomato sauce, added a little balsamic vinegar and red pepper flakes (we like some kick) and non-fat milk for the cream. I'm not very experienced with pork chops and am excited to get a keeper recipe! Next time I'm going to try with thicker chops so they have more time to slow cook and absorb this miracle of a sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Delicious! Thanks for he recipe, Definitely a keeper. I don't even like porkchops and I bought they were absolutely fabulous. Can't wait for the hubby to try it. I am even going to try this with chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Very tasty recipe. As several folks have indicated, I omitted the tomato sauce. Instead, I added about a half cup of apple wine. I also added about a half cup of Greek yogurt to add a little zing to the sauce. The chops came out of the oven tender and juicy, and the sauce was awesome. We'll definitely be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      This was pretty tasty, however I think it had a couple flaws. The chops were fairly tender, but not like I had hoped. IDK how you can "sear" anything in just 2 T. butter, w/o burning, so I used 4 T. of Butter Flavor CRISCO. Also, the sauce was quite good, but not very thick....I thought the tomato sauce sounded out of place, so I omitted it. I'm pretty sure I'll make it again, but will make some adjustments. THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      I've been wanting to try this recipe for a while and finally made it last night. Suffice to say, it was the most AMAZING, DEEP flavor I've ever tasted (including restaurant dishes) and the chops were SO juicy. It is now my favorite way to cook pork chops. But really, how can you go wrong with bacon, sweet onion, and cream? Obviously not too friendly for the waistline, but I'm sure lower-fat substitutes would still be yummy with the way this recipe comes together. In fact, I forgot until just now that I used "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" sticks instead of butter b/c that's all I had, so there ya go! But do yourself a favor and splurge a little bit...use cream. It adds a depth of flavor that is SO unique. I knew it would be good, but it was FAR beyond my high expectations. To those who may think they want to leave out the tomato sauce/paste, I would encourage you to try it first. It's only two tablespoons so it doesn't add a 'tomato-y' taste...it adds a deepness and another level of flavor to the dish. I was tempted to leave it out, but thought I owed it to the recipe to try it with all the ingredients the first time. So glad I did! I actually used tomato paste, as that's what I had on hand, and it was wonderful. I think another thing that made this dish great was the incredibly sweet Vidalia onion that I used. I didn't have 2 small onions so I used 1 giant sweet Vidalia. I agree with the reviewer that wants to try it with chicken...I am going to do that next time, only changing the broth to chicken instead of beef. What an amazing sauce/recipe! Thank you for making me look like a gourmet chef! Definitely gonna be a repeat performer in our house! Oh, and yes JT'sMom...we were all looking for our socks after eating this! Sinfully delicious is RIGHT! Much thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      This was sooo good! I've made this recipe over and over again! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      excellent recipe. I did omit the tomato sauce... as it sounded better without. Other than that I did substitute low fat half and half for the heavy cream. It was plenty rich and wonderful like that... and perfect with mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Very good! Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      This dish is awesome! The chops were perfectly tender and the sauce is to die for. I will most definitely be making again, thanks for posting this winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      This was wonderful!!! My husband said on a scale of 1-10 it was a 15! I think next time I will try it with chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      We both really enjoyed this - tender meat and a really tasty sauce. I only had the Spanish smoked paprika so only used 1 tsp. Used tomato puree. Got loads of compliments. I also omittted the bacon. The sauce had a rich but not sickly taste we both liked very much. Will make again. Thanks for posting this recipe. Sheila

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Yummy! I didn't use any bacon because I rarely use it in my cooking but I added half a cup of white wine in the sauce. Turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      The pork chops came out very tender, but my DH and I did not care for the taste of the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Pork Chops

    Serving Size: 1 (377 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 792.8
     
    Calories from Fat 528
    66%
    Total Fat 58.7 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 248.1 mg
    82%
    Sodium 545.9 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 56.8 g
    113%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites