Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Smothered Pork Chops and Sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Pork Chops and Sausage

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2010

      I had a hard time with the seasonings. Never having made this receipe before I found it confusing that the oil was added with the seasoning. I poured the oil on the seasoning, since it was in with the seasoning. I then read the directions further, and found this a mistake. However I swiped the pork chops in this. Added a little more oil and finished as directed and got rave reviews from hubby and granddaughter. When a ten year old says "This is the best home cooked pork chop I ever had", you know you have a hit. Thanks for posting, will use over an over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      These were great. The only change I made was to leave out the onions, since we don't like them...and I did cook them slightly differently. I realized I wouldn't have time to finish them on the stovetop and eat before church, so after the sauce was made, I added the potatoes and sausage back early and put it all in the oven at 200 degrees and cooked for about 2 hours. The sauce was terrific--caught my husband pouring it off the plate into his mouth! I was a little bit more decorous. I mopped mine up with a piece of bread :D Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      At first glance this looks like a complicated recipe - please don't let that chase you away. It's very quickly put together and the flavor is just unbelievable. We have a new favorite way to prepare pork chops! Thanks for posting this fab recipe on Zaar :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

    • on September 01, 2009

      Awesome- this attempt was actually pretty simple- I found that the pork chop preparation was even better alone rather than doing all of this other stuff- I made the fried pork chops the next day, alone with a salad and we loved them- the dry rub is amazing from this recipe- The actual recipe was very tasty and I would make it again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I have made this many times and never reviewed it! This is one of my Cajun husband's favorite dishes. I add extra cayenne to the spice mixture and use chicken & apple sausage but other than that, follow it to the letter and it turns out fantastic every time! A real comforting dish for cold nights. Thanks Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This was a pretty labor intensive dish and I followed the recipe exactly....it got a thumbs down all the way around the table. Sorry, this did not work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

    • on August 11, 2007

      I also saw this on Emeril and was delighted to find the recipe here. It is absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      This dish brought me home....I am from New Orleans (Kenner)!! YUMMMYY!! My DH loved this dish, and said the left overs tasted even better. I keeper! Thank you for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      This was sinfully delicious! I had only 4 chops, so I froze the excess sauce for later. Made the kitchen smell like Mardi Gras!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Pork Chops and Sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (585 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1488.0
     
    Calories from Fat 871
    58%
    Total Fat 96.7 g
    148%
    Saturated Fat 26.7 g
    133%
    Cholesterol 344.0 mg
    114%
    Sodium 2113.1 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 105.5 g
    211%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites