Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Southern Collard Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Collard Greens

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2012

      Excellent recipe. I made it almost exactly as written and it was pretty much perfect. I will drain some fat next time, as it didn't really need that much. I added maybe 1/2c water to the pot to speed along the wilting process with steam. A !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Great flavor and not cooked to death. I loved the tang of the vinegar and how it kept the greens greener in color. I made this as written; just threw in a pinch of sugar. This is a wonderfully easy method of preparing collards. Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      These greens came out wonderful! Easy to make and a treat to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      These were really good! I prepared exactly how you stated and they weren't cooked enough. I added a quart and a half of chicken stock and let them cook down. They had a really good flavor though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      I never had collard greens before, due to the negative comments that I've always heard. But, these were really good. Reminded me of wilted spinach salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Great recipe! My DH really is picky about his greens since he is from North Carolina. I substituted a couple of slices of salt pork for the bacon, but otherwise followed the recipe and even a Michigan person like me loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Being from Georgia originally, I've eaten my share of greens--these are the real deal. I've even got my Texan wife eating them. I fixed these for New Years and the whole family loved them--not to mention they are supposed to bring good luck. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      Loved them! I, too, made a smaller amount and it was a success. Thanks for sharing ~ 'till now, I thought they had to cook for hours ~ this is great for last minute cooking decisions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Made these for dinner tonight and they were fabulous. I actually used frozen collards as I could not find fresh. Delish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      Soooo good! Who knew collard greens were so wonderful? Not this yankee. Thanks for the introduction, Bogey'sMom. I made a much smaller amount in a skillet, with great success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Collard Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (430 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.2
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    59%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 376.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 10.7 g
    43%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites