Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / Spicy Ham Hocks and Black-Eyed Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Ham Hocks and Black-Eyed Peas

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2014

      YUM! I have never made black eyed peas this way, so it was a treat. I subbed out 2 cups of the chicken stock for some leftover ham juices that I had frozen from our Christmas honey baked ham. Loved the slight sweetness with the beans. I used half a jalapeno with seeds and I easily could have use the entire pepper (mine had no bite so I just added extra green hot sauce). I also threw in some chopped button mushrooms for extra veggie power. My ham hocks were TINY with literally NO real meat so we just topped each serving some crispy chopped bacon; not a bad thing as it's probably a lot less calories that way. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      These are AWESOME. I made this in my crockpot and used about 1 1/2 jalapenos and left the seeds in. It definitely gave it a bite! I also used some of the juice left from the honey ham I had cooked. It was the perfect compliment to the spiciness. I didn't add the carrots because I didn't have any. I can't wait to eat the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Ive never been a huge fan of black eye peas, until now! This recipe is wonderful! I left out the peppers, but it was still fantastic! The pot is empty; that's a good sign!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      I made this for New Years Day and it was very good. Mine was not that spicy which is the way that I prefer it. Now of the stores had smocked ham hock so I substituted it with smocked pork neck. I don't know if that changed the flavor at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Very good recipe. Instead of cooking the peas I soaked overnight. Only had to cook the peas and everything else for about 35 minutes. Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      excellent recipe, i'm sorry it's taken me this long to review! i've made this for the last several years on new years day. the only thing i do differently is use 3 cans of drained black eyed peas (i always buy the seasoned kind) and sometimes i garnish with crumbled bacon and fresh parsley. i always have to go easy on my chicken bouillon & water mixture because of the ham, the first time i made it, i did over salt it so i've tried to be very careful since then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      We loved this recipe. I cooked this dish in my crockpot. I used 3 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water and put the ham hocks and onion in the night before to cook overnight. I removed the hocks and added the peas to the broth and cooked for 3 hours and they were perfect. I did, however, leave out the carrots for personal taste. Loved the bit the jalapeno peppers gave to this dish. Thanks Sue for sharing. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      This recipe is outstanding. I used a crockpot instead of cooking on the stove top since I had a ton of company... but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Just outstanding! My DS, who particularly likes black eyed peas, was in hog heaven, but even my DD, who doesn't much care for "mealy beans" enjoyed it as did my grandchildren. Definitely a keeper! Thanks, SueL, for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      These were the best black-eyed peas we've ever had, and we've been eating them on New Year's day for many years! DH went back for seconds and said I could serve this anytime I wanted to- this after remarking several times how good they smelled while cooking and sampling from the pot before dinner! I actually had to shoo him out of the kitchen! I used 2 11 oz. bags of fresh peas and 2 14.5 oz. cans of chicken broth plus a broth can of water and cooked them for 60 minutes with the pot lid on and then simmereed them for about 45 minutes with the top off to reduce the liquid and thicken them a bit. I also used 3 jalapenos and put the tabasco on the table to add to taste- I like mine a little spicier than DH does. Thanks for the recipe for black-eyed peas that I'll use from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      This recipe is awesome.I would make it again. I made the following changes which turned out great. I did not soak the peas. Only boiled them for 3 minutes. Drained the peas. I followed the recipe directions and turned out great. Of course I added tabasco sauce on mine. Thanks again for this excellent recpe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      Thank you for such a tasty way to start the new year, Sue L! I didn't have the jalapeno, so I substituted 1 Tbsp. hot smoked paprika, and because I wanted this to stand on its own as a soup, I increased the water to 4 cups, and added 6 minced cloves of garlic, and 1 heaping tsp. dried thyme leaves (crushed between fingers). I omitted the salt because ham hocks are salty. After the mixture simmered for an hour and 15 mins., I removed the ham hocks and added 1 bunch of coarsely chopped red chard leaves. I brought the mixture back to a boil and simmered it for about another 15 minutes. I then added back meat from the ham hock and simmered it long enough to warm. Delicious, spicy, colorful, and healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2004

      This was DIVINE. I had hoped to put the leftovers in the freezer but there weren't any. We enjoyed it over brown rice. Didn't and wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Ham Hocks and Black-Eyed Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 457.7
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    19%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 69.5 mg
    23%
    Sodium 512.2 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 42.1 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes