Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Soul / The Lady and Sons Easy Peach Cobbler ( Paula Deen ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Lady and Sons Easy Peach Cobbler ( Paula Deen )

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2013

      I really wasn't sure how many stars to give this recipe. My problem is that even though this claims to be Paula Dean's, it is not the same recipe as the one on Paula Dean's website. http://www.pauladeen.com/recipes/view2/peach_cobbler. The ratios are all different. Yes, hers calls for a stick of butter, but it also calls for 1.5 cups of flour - half as much as the recipe printed here. I've made one on her website several times and the only adjustment I make is that I use a slotted spoon to transfer the peaches to the batter and don't put in any extra syrup. The cake holds up better that way and doesn't get doughy and gummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      I dont see why people had problems with this recipe. Its the perfect ratio of ingridents. I always do equal parts flour, milk, and a litle more sugar and enough butter to coat the pan BUT I did drain the peaches a LITTLE because from experiance if your liquid is more than your flour its too doughy. I made this yesterday night and packed little servings of this in plastic containers this morning for some of the people I cook for to take on picnics. I made one with apples and one with peaches. The one I made with apples I added some nutmeg and cinnamon, both cobblers were well liked. But again you have to be careful about how much liquid is in with your peaches because if I did not drain them somewhat I feel they would be "doughy".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      This turned out beautifully for me. I've made similar recipes many times and had doughy results so was frustrated. One of the women I worked with used the same type recipe and I asked her why hers wasn't doughy and she gave me a great tip. I hope some of you will try it that like your dumpling part to be firmer. Put your peaches and their juice in a sauce pan and bring to a boil before pouring them into the batter. I think you'll be as pleasantly surprised as I was Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

    • on June 14, 2009

    • on November 30, 2008

      This had a great flavor. I followed the recipe except I only used about 1/4 of the juice from the peaches. My dough didn't rise above the peaches and it was sort of like a spongy gel. I'm not sure what the problem with this is? I'm going to consult the foodnetwork site and see what it says and try making this again. I may even email Paula. LOL You think she'll reply. Anyway, like I said it has a great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I love Paula, but this is the worst recipe ever! I followed the instructions exactly, and the topping did not rise. It is the weirdest thing I have ever seen. I most certainly won't be trying it ever again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      I, too, made this recipe from Paula's cookbook using 1 stick butter. It worked out great for us! We thought it was buttery delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      I have been making this recipe for a long time, and it is a quick and favorite recipe around my house. I cannot think of a better recipe that uses so few ingredients but packs such a satisfying punch. I have always followed Paula's recipe exactly, with the 1 stick of butter, whole can of peaches that I break up into smaller bits, and most of the juice from the can. My only modification from her recipe is that I cook it about 15-20 minutes longer than the 30 minutes it calls for. Good post, good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      Delightful! O had no troubles with this - I did take previous comments and the description into account and drain a small amount of my juice - but only a tad. This is a lovely dish - I will ABSOLUTELY make it again - it is so tasty and easy! I didn't get a better shot, so I will leave your photos until next time maybe! Thanks for posting a KEEPER!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      I have to agree with the reviewer that baked it twice with different amounts of butter. I followed Paula's recipie,and I must say that I have never had any of her recipes fail, they've all be terrific, and I love her.. However, this one did not work for us. It was verrrrry doughy. We thought it was not done. I even put it back in the oven, but that didn't work either. Please do not let this take away from any of her other dishes.. Like I said, Paula Deen is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      I made this cobbler exactly as the recipe was written, using canned peaches and sprinkled cinnamon before baking. Prepared and baked the cobbler in a Pyrex 8x8x2 inch baking dish for approximately 45 minutes. I will never make another cobbler recipe again!! This is truly the best I have ever eaten and the easiest to make! The peach syrup bakes into almost a tapioca consistency and the peaches are just perfectly baked. The cobbler crust is tender and just about a dumpling texture underneath and the top....it is crispy, sugary, and wonderful! Thank you Caroline Olivia for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      I made this cobbler following the same recipe that is in my “Paula Deen’s Kitchen Classics” cookbook. I didn’t see the need in printing it from here, as I assumed they were one in the same. I guess the recipe in Paula’s Cookbook is incorrect. It has the same five ingredients and the same method of preparation, but calls for one stick of butter. In my review, which was honest but negative, I commented that one stick of butter was too much for us. This chef was quick to point out my error, and I promptly changed my review, pointing out my mistake and gave it two stars. In the spirit of fairness, I made another cobbler using the correct amount of butter (4 tablespoons) as the above recipe calls for. I am sorry to say, we still did not care for it. It was still lacking in taste and still doughy. When I went to change my review again, I noticed this chef is asking you to disregard my review. I just what to give my honest review and point out the error in Paula’s cookbook. I would hate you to make the mistake of using the wrong recipe, thus ruining your cobbler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This recipe was very easy to make wwith a great flavor. My cobbler was slightly doughy in the middle. I had a slight problem when baking, I baked mine for 45 minutes and the top was getting very brown. I wa afraid to let it go much longer. Definitely worth making and I will make it again using a shallower dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Lady and Sons Easy Peach Cobbler ( Paula Deen )

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 550.3
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    22%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 36.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 433.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 106.1 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 79.0 g
    316%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites